top of page

Spring Forward!


I have only a few days 'till I leave for Georgia to start my hike. My mind is surprisingly calm. I have my gear, my pre trip responsibilities are in order, my schedule is on point, and I feel great!

On March 19th I will fly out of OKC Will Rogers Airport direct to Atlanta, GA. Upon arrival at Atlanta we will rendezvous with a few other Warrior Hikers and then catch the train to the North Springs MARTA rail station.Then we will be picked up by a shuttle that will take us all to our meeting location in Dahlonega, GA. We will spend that day and the next getting, and going over, the rest of our gear (backpacks, sleeping bags, etc).

On March 21 we hit the approach trail at Amicaloa Falls State Park where it's about a 8.8 mile hike to the top of Springer Mountain where the "official" start of the Appalachian Trail begins. Day one on the trail will have a low mileage count, but remember it took nearly 9 miles just to start.

It's now late into March and the clocks are rolling forward. I have always appreciated that old saying "spring forward". It's not just a reference to moving our clocks an hour ahead but it hints at the chance to take that next step toward something. To move forward toward a goal or opportunity. This year I am getting the chance to hike the Appalachian Trail. I wonder what you, my readers, will have the chance to do? What will your momentum drive you toward? Whatever it is don't allow yourself to be your own obstacle. I challenge you to allow yourself to embrace the spring and direct your vision onto that tangable "thing" you want. Let the universe work as it will and you never know what might happen.

Years ago I had the idea that hiking the Appalachian Trail would be fun and now it may be the very thing that heals my soul. The world works in wondrous ways and when it gives you the opportunity of a lifetime you take it. There are no successes without risk and risk can breed fea but no person can be happy with fear. That is how courage is measured, so be courageous and seize the opportunities life presents you. Spring forward and become your own "lane more traveled..."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page