top of page

Let's Brew Some Beer


Day 38 of the Trail: 18.7 miles hiked approximately

 

Freshly carbed up from the pizza and beer, and freshly showered from this morning, we set off back to the trail head. The resort gave us a free ride to the trail head, which was nice. It was almost half a mile that we wouldn't have to walk.

Getting back on the trail when everything is wet from the rain last night and seeing the morning sun shine through the trees, with small patches of fog hovering along the mountain tops, was incredible. This section for the last few days has been the very best hiking so far. True, there have been some steep ups and downs but they came with views and that makes a difference. Today, was more waterfalls, streams, rivers, lakes and distant mountains. It was so spectacular that Thomas and I found ourselves hiking nearly 19 miles and not even realizing it. We were captivated by the scenery so much we didn't notice how far we were going or how fast.

I took this time to reflect a little on my time in the Army. I enjoyed the mission, to an extent, but it was always the people, my brothers in arms, who made it worth it. When I started to seek help for PTSD and became essentially ineffective as a soldier, most of those brothers forgot about me. Some even looked down and talked poorly about my character. It's hard to feel like a broken tool and it makes you wonder why all the good things you have done don't out shine the fact you can't be the same soldier you used to be. It's not what you did, but what can you do for me now feeling. The mission goes on, I understand, but I supported the unit my whole career and when I needed support I was left forgotten and minimized to just pieces of paperwork for someone else to deal with.

I still have good friends and people I consider my brothers from my time in the military but my painful divorce from the service left me feeling useless and validated my low self-esteem. It's been a long progress and I am still very hypersensitive to those who use you when it's convenient for their cause but lack supporting you when you need it. It's a trigger in my life I see aggravated all to often. I hope the trail will help me with this. Time and miles will tell.

Day 39 of the Trail: 21.8 miles hiked

 

We had a great camping spot last night with an awesome view. I woke up in time to catch the sun rise and it was worth it.

I failed to mention in the last blog that while Thomas and I were hiking down to Lake Watauga, Brandon, with our WH group was hiking the opposite way up the mountain. I was a bit confused when I ran into him and reminded him which direction Maine is. He said he had spent an extra day in Erwin then gone into Johnson City to get a MRI on his knee. The good news was he wasn't seriously injured and had decided to reverse hike from the lake back to Black Bear resort. He also said Cody had gotten his foot checked and the doctor said it was tendinitis. Looks like all hikers are still going, some stronger than others, but still going and that's what is important.

Today was not as pretty or water source heavy as before. Thomas and I originally planned on a 15-16 mile day but after weighing our water source options and getting some bomb trail magic at mile 16 for the day we decided we had enough gas in our tank to keep going. We made a 21 plus mile day out of it and that's the record for us so far folks. Just over 10 to Damascus tomorrow and thunderstorms are expected by noon. Pretty sure we can beat them into town.

What was on my mind today as I hiked, one might ask. Beer. I thought about brewing beer. Not all day but some. I have a keg frig at home and my wife and I have brewed beer a couple of times. Every time with various success but all decent beers. It's a fun hobby and easy to do. Best part is you can drink this hobby when it's done and feel great about it. Hobbies are important because they provide atmosphere for experiences, and in this case, time with someone special to you so grab someone you love and make some beer people!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page