top of page

Up Hill... Keep Going...


Day 15 of the Trail: 16.2 miles hiked

 

We slept in until 5 am this morning, for John's benefit. It wouldn't matter by the time the day was done. Even the 127 + miles Thomas and I have hiked already felt like it did little to ease the pain we were about to experience.

By 5:45 am we were packed, out the door, and on our way up the mountain. It was going to be about a 8 mile ascent and it was gonna hurt. I feel like I should go into a lot of detail about today but honestly I am exhausted. The up side is that John knows how to keep things fun and even played some music to help energize us as we hiked.

Although this wasn't the longest day, it was the most strenuous. There were multiple ascents with several hundred feet climbs and steep hiking grades. I wish I could tell you the names of some of the mountains we climbed today but I didn't bother looking in my AT Guide to check. I was too busy trying not to pass out! John, surprisingly, kept up like a champ and never complained. Of course I would expect no less from him. He is one of those guys who has mastered mind over body. The guy will literally go till he does or passes out rather than ask to slow down. I think it's a pride thing but either way he is a tough mofo!

To summarize, in a not so detailed or dramatic way, today was full of up hills, steeper up hills, and even steeper and longer up hills, 16 miles was a ball buster today. We have about 12 miles to Fontana tomorrow where we plan to resupply and stay the night. After that is the Smokies!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page